Tesla Contest Giveway Winner Announcement

Congratulations to Scott Finney from Portland, Oregon for winning the celebrate 25 years of Tesla prize swag. I’d also like to thank the more then 300 people that entered the contest whether it be by following contest rules and e-mailing us the entries or by commenting in the article. Scott’s entry stood out for the story he wrote and in the manner it was written. I would like to share his story granted by his permission with you all after the jump. Fret not for not winning here though. You still have opportunities to win the prize package by either heading to Bloody Disgusting or Kixaxemusic. Good luck! Now here is Scott’s winning entry. Enjoy his truly inspirational story.

Dear Sir,

Tesla is one of my most favorite bands because they are raw and their music always has a meaning. They guys also enjoy playing all the classics and the new songs as well. I have met them all and they are very down to earth and I appreciate that.

Here is my story of why “Gettin Better” is my favorite song.

In 2001 I was diagnosed with Testicular cancer and I did not know I even had it. I went in for a kidney stone and they did a CAT Scan to find the stone and they explained to me that I had Stage 3 Testicular cancer and I had it for a long time and it had travelled throughout my whole body.( Lance Armstrong kind of stuff) and it was a good thing I had a kidney stone to find it. I never thought a kidney stone would be a good thing, but it actually saved my life.

Anyway, so they blew up the stone and took one of the boys and it was a bad week. They then told me that I was going to have to endure 10 or 11 months of chemotherapy. I thought I was prepared for the chemotherapy. But no one is prepared for that long cycle of intense chemo.

I would do chemotherapy for 5 days in a row for 8 hours a day and then I would be off for 2 weeks and they monitor your blood and check to make sure your were not dead. Because literally they are killing you from the inside out. The first cycle was a not too bad, but the following weeks after the first were some of the lowest points in my life. I worked full time and went to school for my masters degree and tried to do chemo as well.

Here is my story on “Gettin Better’ : My drive to the hospital was about 8 minutes from my house. I would get in my car, crank it up the stereo as loud as I could, with woofers, then slide in my Tesla’s greatest hits for ” Gettin Better” and scream the song twice all the way to the hospital. I would get out of my car with ears ringing and go in and face reaper of death every day for my 5 day cycle. I would then get back in my car after my 8 hour day there and try to work and do school and I always had that song playing. I knew my life was never going to be the same after that and it was not. The cancer made me a better person, for I went back to every person that made a difference in my life and told them that I loved them and they did make a difference.

I am sitting here with tears in my eyes recalling the most trying time in my life and “Gettin Better” I believe was one of the main reasons I made it through this tragic time. The song says it all in the lyrics’ “I am a hard working man, doin the best I can”. ” I am changing the scene if you know I mean” and “Sun shining everyday” are the words of wisdom I lived by for 10 months.

Even if I do not win the shirt, I wanted to tell you my story of why Tesla is so near and dear to my heart.

Thank you for letting me share.

Sincerely,

Scott Finney

Congratulations Scott on both winning the gear but more importantly on winning the battle against cancer and especially the type of cancer that guys dread. May you continue to enjoy life for many years to come.

0 responses to “Tesla Contest Giveway Winner Announcement

  1. Great story… some of my dearest friends are due to Tesla, and so many of us have much this same tale. So glad you won Scott and so glad you are well now. God bless you

  2. Pingback: A Review of 2011 | That Devil Music

Leave a Reply

