Devil’s Ballot: Hired Guns N’ Roses Is Finally Touring The U.S. But Why Would You go?

Back in February I mentioned that rumors were stating that Gun N’ Roses was supposed to be touring the U.S. finally. Now mind you it was supposed to be in the Spring and we are now getting into Fall. Well since then dates have started to roll in for indeed a tour of the U.S. and so far only half of the dates of the 30 city stop are posted. I still believe what I said months ago but the question still begs. Why would you want to spend money to go see this? I’m am honestly curious as to why people would subject themselves to this for the amount of money it will most likely command.I see I’ve been proven wrong about no world tour and that’s fine even though it’s taken 3 years since release to actual come to the States. And therein lies my curiosity. Why would you give money to somebody that has never given back to the fans?

Axl is such a recluse and shut in that he’s never done meet and greets. He’s done no promotions or interviews. He’s done virtually no interaction with any fans in any form that I can think of over the span 25 years. Sure the riots are what people remember from past shows but even the fairly recent European tour was just a traveling roadshow that stopped in a city, possible drama was involved, packed up and moved on to the next. And it will be no different in the States. I still think Axl and his people thought that Chinese Democracy was going to be a monster hit and now the only reason a tour is even happening is to recoup the losses from the major promotions for the album. In fact the only interviews I ever see with the band is DJ Ashba or whover else and they are pretty much giving out canned praise and defenses for the way Axl behaves and for the things he does or in this case does not do.

I haven’t done a new poll in awhile and I think this is a worthy one to get that back in gear. I really want to know what would possess people to pay inflated money to see a Hired Guns and Roses show. It’s one thing to feel nostalgic if you’re around my age but what about the younger set? Why would you go? Is it to hear Welcome to the Jungle or the thought of seeing Axl come out late and play a shortened set or more riots? So pop in your answers and we’ll see the result in a month or so. In the meantime here are the confirmed U.S. dates so far.

Oct. 28 – Orlando, FL – Amway Center Arena
Oct. 29 – Miami, FL – American Airlines Arena
Oct. 31 – Greenville, SC – Bi-Lo Center Arena
Nov. 02 – Atlanta, GA – Philips Arena
Nov. 04 – Houston, TX – Toyota Center
Nov. 05 – Dallas, TX – Gexa Energy Pavilion
Nov. 08 – Omaha, NE – CenturyLink Center
Nov. 09 – Norman, OK – Lloyd Noble Center
Nov. 12 – Kansas City, MO – Sprint Center
Nov. 13 – Minneapolis, MN – Target Center
Nov. 15 – Rosemont, IL – Allstate Arena
Nov. 17 – East Rutherford, NJ – IZOD Center
Nov. 19 – Hartford, CT – Comcast Theatre
Nov. 20 – Wilkes-Barre, PA – Mohegan Sun Arena at Casey Plaza
Nov. 25 – Worcester, MA – DCU Center
Nov. 26 – Camden, NJ – Susquehanna Bank Center
Dec. 01 – Auburn Hills, MI – The Palace of Auburn Hills

0 responses to “Devil’s Ballot: Hired Guns N’ Roses Is Finally Touring The U.S. But Why Would You go?

  1. There’s no way in hell I’d spend my money on this. I do like Chinese Democracy, it’s different but good for me. Shoulda been called an Axl Rose solo album, though. I’ll just hold out for a real GNR reunion that’ll probably never happen.

  2. I’ll echo byrd36. I didn’t hate Chinese Democracy but have zero interest in seeing this version of the band. Certainly a project greater than the sum of its parts nothing short of a Slash/Izzy/McKagan/Rose reunion (I’ll take or leave the addled Adler) will separate me from my cash. And this is coming from a guy who will willingly go to a show by any variation of the BulletBoys.

Leave a Reply

