With Talks Of An Original Black Sabbath Line-up Reunion, Do We Really Want A New Album?

Black Sabbath

Blabbermouth reported that Tony Iommi has confirmed that there was a rehearsal of the original line-up. This was told to the UK’s Terrorizer magazine. Here is a snippet quote from blabbermouth.net.

 “[We] played some of the old stuff and to be together again was great. We’re all on good terms and we’re at a stage where we can play together again. It would be good if we could and I suppose it’s the closest it’s been to be able to do that. It could happen!”

I guess last week Ozzy told Billboard.com that things are in “the early stages”, but nothing has been recorded yet. So, this brings me to the title question. Sure, a Black Sabbath reunion would be cool, especially with the original line-up instead of 3 out of 4 like the last couple of reunions have been. However, do we really need a new Black Sabbath album? I’ve talked about this before, but since it is more out in the open and possible now, I figured that I would bring it up again. I mean, a new Black Sabbath album, in my opinion, would sound too modern and yet dated. What I dig about the old Sabbath albums is the old analog sound. I just feel that with all the modern equipment, it would sound way too polished and generic. Even if they took a different approach and tried to record it like they used to, either on an analog 8 track recorder, I would still be willing to bet that it is not going to sound organic enough to meet my expectations and tastes that I expect from a Black Sabbath album under this line-up.

Now I ask you the question: Do we really need a new Black Sabbath album of the original line-up? In addition, explain why or why not and perhaps voice your opinion on the reunion buzz.

 

Leave a Reply

