Overkill To Tour In The Spring And Drag A Million Bands With Them Again

Overkill is one of the few bands left that I really really really want to see live. From everything I’ve seen of the band in a live setting they are pretty kick ass. The problem is that everytime they seem to tour over the past few years they have like 5 or 6 bands on the bill hence it being dubbed Killfest 2. Once again the bands that tag along are not bands I care to see. And it’s frustrating because I want to get my money’s worth and not have to listen to 2 hours of stuff I care nothing about to see an hour and a half set by one of the best old school thrash bands on the planet. But yes, this spring Overkill is touring and here is who’s on board as support.

Aborted: Though I’ve been on a death metal kick of late these guys do nothing for me. Borders on grindcore.
Belphegor: I need to check these guys out before I come up with an opinion. Since I’ve been listening to Immolation, Behemoth and Fleshgod Apocalypse lately there could be potential here. *Update* No thanks. I’m bored by the music and the satanic fetish theme and imagery is not my bag.
System Divide: What Lacuna Coil would be if they were actually metal but I’m pretty meh on this band. Explains why Aborted is on this bill. For those that don’t know SD’s vocalists are married and double duty is going on the male half for Aborted too.
Blackguard: I guess this band took somewhat of a break from touring and are back to latching on to big tours again. Seriously….they should be the house band for every stop on every tour by every band ever.
Diamond Plate: Ummm yeah…an instrumental set by these guys would be cool. And funny enough the only band on this bill that is from the thrash genre like Overkill.

We have quite a bit of time so I might change my mind when it comes time in the spring but for now I’ll pass. What does get me excited is that this means a new Overkill album is imminent and that’s always a good thing. But hey….if this tour makes you want to drop down some cash now and get your tickets, here are the dates after the jump.

Apr. 20 – Trocadero Theater – Philadelphia, PA
Apr. 22 – Lost Horizon – Syracuse, NY
Apr. 23 – Screamin WIllie’s – Columbus, OH
Apr. 24 – Blondie’s – Detroit, MI
Apr. 25 – Bottom Lounge – Chicago, IL
Apr. 26 – Beaumont Club – Kansas City, MO
Apr. 27 – Bluebird Theater – Denver, CO
Apr. 28 – The Complex – Salt Lake City, UT
Apr. 30 – El Corazon – Seattle, WA
May 01 – Hawthorne Theater – Portland, OR
May 02 – The Grand Ballroom – San Francisco, CA
May 03 – Club Nokia – Los Angeles, CA
May 05 – Emo’s East – Austin, TX
May 06 – Trees – Dallas, TX
May 08 – The Club at Firestone – Orlando, FL
May 09 – Culture Room – Ft. Lauderdale, FL
May 10 – The Masquerade – Atlanta, GA
May 11 – Jaxx Nightclub – West Springfield, VA
May 12 – Best Buy Theater – New York, NY

Leave a Reply

