Get Ready For Accept's 'Stalingrad' To Be Released In The Spring

Wow, has it already been two years since Accept made their comeback with Blood of the Nations? And it was a pretty good comeback and one of those times where I was pleased that my pessimism was unfounded. I mean here is this legendary German band without their iconic singer of old that decided to recruit a guy from a band that fronted a regional favorite but mired in obscurity everywhere else. Every other time a band tried to pull something like this off it failed miserably but it worked as I don’t know too many people that hated Blood of the Nations. So now we have the second album of Accept 3.0 or 4.0 (depending on if you count the reunion with Udo in the 90’s) and I can honestly say I’m stoked to hear it though. It’s hard to get away from pessimism because the sophomore jinx could happen here but I can’t see that happening. Especially when Guitarist Wolf Hoffman is taking a it ain’t broke so we’re not fixing it approach.

We’re just gonna have the same attitude, the approach; we’re just gonna do more of the same, you know, without it being the same. More similar-style stuff, hopefully fresh new ideas. And I mean, we’re not gonna… The intention is not to change it right now. I mean, why would we? . . . But I have to say, it’s always easier said than done. It’s incredibly difficult to write songs that are sort of reminiscent of the past but they’re not, you know, rip-offs of your own music. That sounds incredibly very simple, but it’s really not, especially if you have a sort of history of 15 albums or whatever we have. Then there are always similarities that you have to avoid. It can’t be too close, but it can’t be too far away from it. So it’s a pretty fine line that you have to walk sometimes, but, you know, hopefully we’ll manage again.

That’s good news for older fans like me. As long as the riffs are still heavy and catchy and Mark Tornillo’s vocals are still intact this should be another fun ride. Here is the list of versions you can get and the track listing when Stalingrad releases on April 6th.

“Stalingrad”will be made available in the following formats:

* Limited CD+DVD
* CD
* 2LP (red) in gatefold
* 2LP (white/red) in gatefold – exclusive Nuclear Blast mailorder edition

“Stalingrad” track listing:

01. Hung, Drawn And Quartered
02. Stalingrad
03. Hellfire
04. Flash To Bang Time
05. Shadow Soldiers
06. Revolution
07. Against The World
08. Twist Of Fate
09. The Quick And The Dead
10. Never Forget (bonus track)
11. The Galley

DVD contents:

Official Bootleg

Live at Bang Your Head!!! 2011

01. Princess Of The Dawn
02. Pandemic
03. No Shelter

Live at Masters Of Rock 2010

04. Teutonic Terror
05. The Abyss

Video clips

06. Teutonic Terror
07. Pandemic


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s