Mikael Akerfeldt Quits Bloodbath (Again)

If you’re familiar with Opeth and Katatonia then you should be familiar with the death metal tribute band Bloodbath. Bloodbath is basically an all star Swedish outfit that pays homage to classic death metal and have released 3 albums and an two E.Ps so far. Mikael Akerfeldt has appeared on most of these recording except for 2004’s Nightmares Made Flesh which was fronted by Peter Tagtgren of Hypocrisy. Mikael had left at that time to focus on Opeth which was really starting to take off globally. He returned a few years later and now it looks like he’s left again.

Can’t say I’m surprised due to recent events. Opeth released Heritage which was an homage to various prog rock bands and even the tour lacked the brutal sides of things. The anticipated collaboration with Steven Wilson of Porcupine Tree called Storm Corrosion is coming and full of prog without the death. So is Mikael truly tired of the death metal? Possbily if you read into what he’s saying about his departure to Loudwire.

I’m not in Bloodbath,” says Akerfeldt. “They have a new singer, which I can’t say who it is. Bloodbath for me was never a serious project, it was just something I did for fun. We did a few songs on the last North American tour, we did two songs at the very last show because we were touring with Katatonia, so the whole Bloodbath band was there. It’s still fun you know? But I think that some of the other guys in Bloodbath want to take it to the next level, which I don’t really want to do because I’m so busy anyways.”

He continued, “It doesn’t really have to do with anything with my screaming vocals, it’s just that it’s not a progressive project for me. It’s just paying tribute to death metal and I’ve done it for such a long time. And when it stops being fun, I don’t really want to participate. We do things so rarely it’s always been fun. The shows we’ve done have been fun, but I don’t feel the need to do it.

I’m interested to see who they got to do the vocals from here on out. I’m just a bit bummed that I just start getting into Bloodbath and it’s not Mikael up front.

Leave a Reply

