Nile Announces New Album Coming in June *Update* Artwork Revealed

Something is making me change my mind on the whole tech death thing. You can reference this exchange in the comments over my issues with tech death. Maybe it’s because of the new crop of bands that sites like Metalsucks fellate all the time are not of my taste. Admittedly I’m still a relative novice at the whole death metal thing in general. I had heard songs here and there from the band Nile which it appears have a pretty big following. And it must have been the songs that I heard that my fickle tastes didn’t much care for at the time. But since this band has a theme of Egyptian and ancient civilizations I kept going back. And glad I did, I listened to the the last album ‘ Those Whom the Gods Detest’ and it was like a light switch went off. What a punishing and awesome album that was. Well it’s been 3 years and I just got an e-mail that the wait for fans is almost over.

On June 3rd the new album ‘At the Gate of Sethu’ is set to be released via Nuclear Blast Records. Track listing and artwork to come when I get it. Looks like Cdee was right about at least one of the bands he listed in the genre. So, any recommendations on other albums in the back catalog now that I’ve been fish hooked?

2 responses to “Nile Announces New Album Coming in June *Update* Artwork Revealed

  1. Can’t really help you much with suggestions — the only album I have is “Amongst the Catacombs of Nephren Ka” which was their first full-length. I’ve heard maybe one song from each album since then but never got around to picking up any more of them. Guess it’s one of those cases where there’s always something I wanted to buy more, and Nile sort of slipped through the cracks.

    So anyway I am not quite sure how that earlier album compares with their new stuff — it has “Ramses the Bringer of War” which is based on “Mars the Bringer of War” from Gustav Holst’s “The Planets” – which in the original version is about as close to heavy metal as the classical world gets. Even though the instrumentation there uses some pretty cheesy fake synth orchestra sounds, I always thought “Ramses” was a cool song. For the most part the songs on this album are an even mix of technical stuff (Karl Sanders is basically a guitar wizard, after all) with heavy caveman brutality. It’s not too overloaded with the techy, flashy stuff. Plus it has a bunch of moments with traditional ethnic percussion (I’d guess Egyptian or African of some kind) – including (according to the liner notes) drums made with human skulls.

    I would think if you find you really like the band, you’ll probably like the songs on this record… I listen to it from time to time and I’m glad I bought it, but I sometimes feel like it’s a little uneven in terms of song quality throughout, and it does have some weaker moments. So I would definitely recommend it to someone who is a fan of their style, but it might not be the best choice for someone who is just getting into it. There are probably more consistent albums later in their career. In fact, I’d be interested in seeing the suggestions you get, because at this point, I wouldn’t know which of their albums I’d want to buy next…

  2. Listen to Annihilation of the Wicked. For the love of earth, do it! There are some true gems even in the noodly world of tech death. Nile isn’t pure tech death anyway.

Leave a Reply

