Past Demons: MD.45 – the Craving

In 1996 I was a member of BMG music club. I was also in the Marine Corps temporarily deployed from Quantico, Virginia to Camp Pendelton, California and all of my mail was being forwarded. If you remember anything about BMG, then you remember the album of the month for your preferred genre and how if you didn’t send the reply back saying that you didn’t want the album, then you would automatically get it. Due to my mail being forwarded for that six month stretch, I received a lot of those albums that I didn’t want. One of those albums of the month was MD. 45’s The Craving. However, this was one I actually wanted. I’m a huge Megadeth fan and anything that Dave was involved in, I was interested.

This album, on the other hand, was different. It wasn’t your typical Megadeth sound, mainly due to the vocals. The guitars sounded like Dave…well because it was Dave. Bass was played by Kelly Lemieux (Goldfinger), drumming was Jimmy DeGrasso (Suicidal Tendencies, Megadeth) and lastly, the vocals were by Lee Ving of  L.A. old school punk band Fear. Back then I didn’t warm up to the vocals as much because I was one-minded about it. I always said that I would like to hear the album with Dave singing and I guess I wasn’t the only one. In 2004, Dave Remastered and re-released The Craving…with his own vocals. For awhile Dave used the excuse that the original vocal track was lost and that was why he ended up rerecording the vocals. Some years later and even in his biography, Dave Admits that he did it because he wanted to and because a lot of fans said that they wanted to hear the album with his vocals.

These days I enjoy both versions of the album with both Ving and Mustaine singing, depending on what mood I’m in. This is a really good album that didn’t and still doesn’t get the credit it deserves. Check out both versions of the opening track. Which one do you like better?


Leave a Reply

