Devil’s Interview: Steve ‘Zetro’ Sousa of Hatriot (The Sequel)

Last year I had one of my biggest interviews ever with the legendary Zetro formerly of Exodus and it went very well. Now almost a year later I was approached to do another interview so of course I couldn’t pass it up. Journey with with me now to see where Zetro’s current band Hatriot is in terms of tours and an album release.

1. Thanks for chatting with us again Zetro. How have things been for you and the guys?

Things have been great. We have been busy writing and recording with Hatriot, as well has handling a lot of business – like shopping for a record deal. The band is beginning to play shows on a regular basis and we are becoming a well-oiled machine.

2. Last time we spoke you were getting ready to shop demos to labels. How has that process come a long? Any good leads yet?

Yes, we have been shopping to all the big metal labels. Right now we have two who definitely want to sign us. I can’t say their names because I don’t want to jinx anything, but we should have a deal signed in the next few weeks. From there we will begin recording the full record!

3. At one point you had 4 or 5 demo tracks for folks to listen to. Is there a full length album ready to be unleashed here soon?

We released a 4 song demo last year, and have since recorded 2 more songs in demo form. They sound great! The songs keep getting sicker and sicker! We have a full length album worth of material written now. As soon as the label deal is finalized we will get started recording the full record. We hope to have it out by the end of the year, or in the first part of 2013.

4. I’m assuming those demo tracks will make their way on a finished product, will they be re recorded or are you happy with the sound of them as is?

We definitely would be re-recording them for the full record so they would sound fuller, and consistent with the rest of the disc. I’m not sure if we are going to use all the songs from the demo on the album. Definitely two or three might make the cut, but we are constantly writing more material. We might make a few changes to a couple of the songs when we cut them for the real record. The demo versions may surface at some point as bonus tracks that the record company uses on different versions of the album, for different countries you know.

5. During the course of the past year there was a benefit show on the 10th anniversary of Paul Baloff’s passing. Were you involved in that and if so how was it getting together with all of the guys again?

No, I was not involved with that. That’s really all I wish to say about it. I do want to make it clear that I am cool with all the Exodus guys though. In fact, I just spoke with Gary Holt a couple weeks ago. There is no animosity or drama. We are all cool with one another.

6. You’ve been involved in so many projects over the years, are there any plans to have anybody guest for you on a Hatriot album and if so who would you like to contribute?

For this first record I would say definitely not. I want to showcase the strength of this band as it is. I’m not looking to add anything else to it to help sell records. This band is very strong and it should stand on its own merit.

7. Speaking of projects, apparently you were involved with a group called Tenet handling vocals, how did that come about and is there to be further work on that?

Tenet was a not really a band, it was a project. They felt that my vocals would fit well with the material and they asked me to sing on it. At the time I had plenty of free time to devote to it. As for a future record, it would all depend on if we had the time to do it. Right now I would have to say no because all my time is devoted to Hatriot. It is my focus to get Hatriot off the ground right now, but a little further down the road it is a possibility. If our schedules could work around it I would entertain the thought of doing another record with them for sure.

8. I understand Dublin Death Patrol will be releasing an album later this year. This is shaping up to be a busy month for you. How do you manage to not get overwhelmed and still have fun at this metal thing after so long in the biz?

Yes, Dublin Death Patrol has a new record coming in the summer. I don’t think we will be doing a lot of support for it though. Chuck will be busy promoting the new Testament record and I am 100% devoted to Hatriot. Things do get a little overwhelming at times, but I really enjoy every aspect of what I do – from doing this interview to doing a photo shoot at 9:00 tonight. I am willing to do whatever I have to do with this. Being older and having been in the business for 30 years, I don’t take anything for granted. I think back to being a kid and being in my room listening to my records… I would sit there and imagine what it would be like to be on a stage in front of a crowd. So for me to actually be able to do this – for people to want to take my picture and read my interviews, listen to my records, and like my music – that is the reward right there. It is what I have always wanted, so I will do whatever it takes forever to keep it alive.

9. Quite a few veterans of thrash are finding a revival of careers or even never before found success. Onslaught, Heathen, Forbidden are some great examples of that. What are your thoughts on this trend?

I think what happened was that style of music came and went really fast. If you think about it 1984 was the beginning and when grunge hit in 1993 it was all over. Those bands were all very innovative and they helped inspire future styles, such as black metal and death metal. Those early thrash bands were very ahead of their time. So I think all the guys that did it initially are now considered the innovators and the pioneers of the genre, and people want to see them. To get to go back and see those bands playing new music, as well as their older music, is just amazing. It takes you back to a time to when you were a lot younger, and brings back a lot of memories.

10. What is the show schedule for Hatriot looking like this summer? Any dates you want to pass along?

I’m not positive on the summer schedule yet, but we do have a couple this month. We are headlining a show on the 19th of May and we have a big show on the 31st with D.R.I. at a club here called The Avalon. We are in a contest to open up the Mayhem Festival here so we will see on that. What our main focus is right now is getting a record done in the summer. I hope to have a full Hatriot record done by late fall or early winter. That’s our goal right now.

Thanks again, Zetro, for taking the time out of your busy schedule to speak with us again. Good luck and looking forward to seeing and hearing more of Hatriot in the years to come

Thank you for your support over the years, Rob! I will see you real soon! ZETRO

2 responses to “Devil’s Interview: Steve ‘Zetro’ Sousa of Hatriot (The Sequel)

  1. Pingback: Check Out A New Hatriot Song ‘Blood Stained Wings’ in the Form of Video | That Devil Music

  2. Pingback: Hatriot Signs With Massacre Records And Announces New Drummer Plus Debut Album Details | That Devil Music

Leave a Reply

