Past Demons: Venom – Black Metal

Venom, I suppose, was my first introduction to the more extreme side of metal.  They were arguably one of the innovators of the style anyway.  Although In League With Satan was the first thing I heard by them in 1984, their 1982 album Black Metal was really the one that made me a fan.  It was loud, raw, in-your-face music that, as a teenager, was fun to listen to and get reactions from.  The song Black Metal is still my favorite by the band.  Though Venom may have been surpassed in shear extremeness, as a pioneer of thrash and a strongly influential band, the original lineup of Cronos, Mantas, and Abaddon still have a place of distinction in my music collection.

Just in case you never heard the song – here you go:

I hear the sound in a METAL way.

-Harley

Leave a Reply

