Baroness Streaming Yellow & Green At NPR

Click on the image to get the full size perspective of this great work of art.

A few weeks ago I came across the stream of the new single from the new Baroness double album on a friends Facebook. I don’t know what exactly compelled me to play the stream, but nonetheless, it amazed me and made me wonder what else I was missing from this band. You see, a few years ago I tried listening to what I thought was a Baroness song and I didn’t like what I was hearing. It’s been a long time, but perhaps it either wasn’t Baroness that I was listening to (may have been Priestess), or I was simply not into the sound of that song at that particular moment of time. Regardless, after I hear the stream of “Eula“, the last song on the Yellow half od the album, I got on Spotify and started listening to the Red and Blue albums. For the life of me, I couldn’t figure out why I never got into this band before.

With the Yellow & Green album, I don’t even know where I would start if I wanted to review this double album, simply because it’s unlike their previous albums and take the band in more of progressive rock sound. In order for me to do a review, I would have to really sit down and dedicate a lot of listening time to not just Yellow & Green, which I already have, but also to the Blue and Red albums. I just don;t have that kind of time anymore, but I will say that Yellow & Green is simply an amazing album with extremely catchy riffs and choruses. As usual, the cover art was done by frontman John Baizley.

NPR is steaming the entire album this week, which I highly recommend you give a listen to. Baizley commented in the press release:

“We can do something this year that we were completely incapable of doing last year,” Baroness’s John Baizley tells NPR in the accompanying interview which goes on to describe Yellow & Green as “a lyrically introspective and musically expansive work” and says “there’s an embarrassment of melodic and riff-based riches”

You can also preorder the album in both CD and vinyl format at Relapse Records.

Leave a Reply

