Past Demons: Mushroomhead

Mushroomhead is often refered to from thier fans from the beginning as Slipknot before Slipknot was Slipknot. I really don’t like to compare because their sounds are totally different and the only similarity is the whole mask and jumpsuit getup. Admittedly, I am an early Slipknot fan. Unfortunately, I didn’t have access to all the great music that was already out during the nu-metal period; so when Slipknot started to gain popularity through their debut Roadrunner release, I really liked what I was hearing. I’m not sure how much longer it was later that I found Muxhroomhead’s XX. The dual vocals and little things they added to their songs to set them apart in the scene was enough for me to enjoy. These days I rarely listen to either Mushroomhead or Slipknot. It mostly depends on what mood I’m in or the fact that both bands seem to have lost a little bit of the creativity they once had. Also the fact that J. Mann left the band and I never adjusted to Waylon’s voice very well. XX (Compilation of songs from their first three albums) and XIII remain selected on my iTunes/iPod. These two albums also feature great cover songs. XX features a few extra tracks, one of which is cover of Pink Floyd’s “Empty Spaces” from The Wall. Though it is a rather short song, they cover it well in their own way. XIII features a cover of Seal’s ‘Crazy” at the end of the thirteenth track. Check out their video for “Solitaire/Unraveling” and the cover of “Crazy” below.



Newer Mushroomhead with various new(er) members.



Leave a Reply

