30th Anniversary Celebration for Judas Priest’s “Screaming for Vengeance”

“One of the most important, influential and imitated bands ever…” – Kerrang

A vital part of metal history, British heavy metal legends Judas Priest have spent four decades writing classic songs and putting on spectacular live shows. During this period, the band has sold in excess of 30 million albums, and played to countless millions of fans across the globe. In 1982, they released their eighth studio album, Screaming For Vengeance, containing their hugely successful “You’ve Got Another Thing Comin“, the single which proved that metal could get mainstream radio airplay in the U.S. —paving the way for a whole generation of new metal bands.

To celebrate the 30 year anniversary of this epic release, Judas Priest present you with SCREAMING FOR VENGEANCE – SPECIAL 30TH ANNIVERSARY EDITION, containing not only the re-mastered original album plus bonus tracks, but also a live DVD from the 1983 US Festival show, filmed in San Bernadino CA on 29th May 1983.
The SCREAMING FOR VENGEANCE – SPECIAL 30TH ANNIVERSARY EDITION Live DVD was filmed at the second, and what turned out to be last, US Festival in 1983. The Sunday was the Heavy Metal Day -“It was the day new wave died and rock n’ roll took over”. It set the single-day concert attendance record for the US with an estimated 375,000 people.

Judas Priest had this to say about this memorable day in metal history:

“On the day that we performed, we flew in by helicopter — and the first sight we saw was that of thousands of abandoned cars piled up around the crests of the hills that surrounded the festival arena, which as we went over took our breath away. For there below us, spread throughout hundreds of acres was a massive crowd — over three hundred thousand strong! The summer heat was raging and combined with the hot Santa Ana winds made for a scorching metal furnace on stage.”

 Below is the CD track listing and DVD listing for the upcoming release of the 30th Anniversary Edition scheduled for release in September 2012.

CD track listing:

01. The Hellion
02. Electric Eye
03. Riding On The Wind
04. Bloodstone
05. (Take These) Chains
06. Pain And Pleasure
07. Screaming For Vengeance
08. You’ve Got Another Thing Comin’
09. Fever
10. Devil’s Child

Bonus tracks:

11. Electric Eye (live) *
12. Riding On The Wind (live) *
13. You’ve Got Another Thing Comin’ (live) *
14. Screaming For Vengeance (live) *
15. Devil’s Child (live)
16. Prisoner Of Your Eyes

* Live from the San Antonio Civic Center – September 10, 1982

DVD track listing:

US Festival Show – San Bernadino, California – May 29, 1983

01. Electric Eye
02. Riding On The Wind
03. Heading Out To The Highway
04. Metal Gods
05. Breaking The Law
06. Diamonds And Rust
07. Victim Of Changes
08. Living After Midnight
09. The Green Manalishi (with the two-pronged crown)
10. Screaming For Vengeance
11. You’ve Got Another Thing Comin’
12. Hell Bent For Leather

* Plus booklet featuring photos from Mark Weiss and sleeve notes written by Eddie Trunk (long-standing and well-respected U.S. rock journalist, author, radio and TV presenter)


2 responses to “30th Anniversary Celebration for Judas Priest’s “Screaming for Vengeance”

  1. The first Priest album I owned…on cassette even:P I usually don’t do reissues or remasters but I may have to get this just for the US Festival DVD. I was camping the day this aired so was one of the few that did not get to see the whole set. So what is the release date or did I miss that in the article?Nevermind, next month. Awesome.

  2. A few years ago I found a pristine original copy of Screaming For Vengeance on vinyl for $3 in a pawn shop. It’s one of my prized possessions in my small collection of vinyl.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s