Burnt Offerings: Kiuas

Kiuas is a criminally underrated, Finnish Power Metal band that has put out several completely superb albums over the last seven years or so.  I discovered them while I was deployed to Iraq in 2009 on the file server there that had tons of music on it.  I had heard the name before, but had no idea what the band sounded like.  I was pretty much instantly hooked, though, with the powerful vocals, intricate yet aggressive guitar work, pummeling drums and all around terrific songwriting and musicianship.  The album that truly caught my ear at that time was The New Dark Age.  This is no Stratovarius, Nightwish or Sonata Arctica type of Finnish Metal.  It is much more hard-hitting and in your face Metal than any of those bands.  Sometimes they border on Thrash or Death, but always remain melodic.  Kiuas know how to write a ballad, and in fact, one of my favorites by them is a completely acoustic song, After the Storm.  This song, along with one of my other top tunes by Kiuas are after the break.

 Race With the Falcons:

I hear the sound in a METAL way.

-Harley

Leave a Reply

