Scott's Top Ten Metal Albums of 2012 And Farewell

As we close this year and Rob closes up shop here, I can’t help but have a heavy heart about it. I’ve had my own metal blogs over the years and as I lost ambition to write about metal I’ve taken steps to reduce my role by participating in other people’s blogs. Eventually I found myself having no ambition at all. About that time, Rob informed me of his plans to shut TDM down. I appreciate Rob letting me help out here, but now I can surely focus on my career transition and work on flourishing new talents and ambitions. I wish the best of luck to Rob, Harley, Ken, Don and whoever else may have contributed that I might have missed. With all that said, here is my ten favorite albums of 2012. This list may vary from my “Top Albums For The First Half of 2012.” I’m going to keep this simple and without pictures.

10. Angel Witch – As Above, So Below: Although a lot of these songs were written years ago, the fact is that it is still technically a new Angel Witch album. The band has stuck to their sound while still keeping things modern.

9. Grand Magus – The Hunt: Their style of no frills, classic metal sound still has me hooked. While not their best album, still quite solid.

8. Katatonia – Dead End Kings: Katatonia released another Katatonia album. While not breaking new ground, they are undoubtedly amazing musicians and Dead End Kings does not disappoint.

7. Psycroptic – The Inherited Repression: I almost forgot about this album, which is a shame because I was playing the hell out of it earlier this year.

6. Storm Corrosion – S/T: Metal or not, this album is a treat to listen to.

5. Scott Kelly, Steve Von Till, and Wino – Song Of Townes Van Zandt: A tribute album to a very under-rated folk singer, Kelly, Von Till, and Wino do a great tribute to the late Van Zandt. I highly recommend checking out all of these artists’ [to include Van Zandt] solo work if you enjoy acoustic and ambient rock.

4. Nate Hall – A Great River: Wow, this list is becoming les and less metal as I go along, bu the fact is that I enjoy softer music as well, as long as it’s good and trust me on this, A Great River is not just good, it’s great (I’m about to be sued by Kellogg).

3. Testament – Dark Roots Of Earth: Very few bands from back in the 80’s thrash still know how to write a good solid thrash album while still maintaining their signature sound. Testament continue to do just that with Dark Roots of Earth.

2. Overkill – Electric Age: Very few bands from back in the 80’s thrash still know how to write a good solid thrash album while still maintaining their signature sound. Overkill continue to do just that with The Electric Age. Yeah, I’m getting lazy, but it’s the truth.

1. Daylight Dies – A Frail Becoming: I wasn’t a Daylight Dies fan before this album, but it made me one. If you are tired of the redundancy of most death metal these days and you require a little progressiveness such as Opeth and Barren Earth, then Daylight Dies is for you and this album is more than a pleasure to listen to.

The rest of these are definitely solid album and worth a mention. With all of he amazing albums that were released this year, it would be a crime if I left these unsaid. These are in no particular order.

Baroness – The Yellow and Green album

Gojira -L’Enfant Sauvage

Astra – The Black Chord

Goatwhore – Blood For Thy Master

Game Over – For Humanity

Barren Earth – The Devil’s Resolve

Woods Of Ypres – Grey Skies and Electric Lights

Kreator – Phantom Antichrist

Meshuggah – Koloss

Nechochwen – OtO

Red lamb – S/T

Yakuza – Beyul

Graveyard – Lights out

Well, that’s it. It’s been fun.

~See you on the flip side…

 

Leave a Reply

